ATH: Impressive class to be inducted into Hofstra Athletics Hall of Fame

Hempstead, NY – The Hofstra University Athletics Department is thrilled to announce the Hall of Fame Class of 2022. The class consists of six individuals and will be inducted into the 2022 Hofstra Pride Athletics Hall of Fame and at the golf outing, which will take place on Monday, June 13, 2022 at the Seawane Club in Hewlett Harbor, New York.

“The Hofstra Athletics Hall of Fame Class of 2022 is another exceptional group and we are very pleased to have them inducted,” said Hofstra Vice President and Director of Athletics. Rick Cole Jr. declared. “These six individuals represent the best of Hofstra Athletics and are a diverse group that includes great student-athletes, a tremendous coach and someone who has spent most of her life at Hofstra as a student-athlete, coach and administrator. It will be a big night of celebration for the Class of 2022 in June.”

With this class, the Hofstra Athletics Hall of Fame will include 121 individuals and nine teams.

The Hofstra Athletics Hall of Fame Class of 2022 is as follows:


Liz Curley (Messmer) – A student-athlete in volleyball from 2003 to 2006, Liz Curley was the first American Volleyball Coaches Association All-American in program history after earning an honorable mention as a senior. A member of Hofstra’s 2006 NCAA Tournament Team, Curley played a key role in leading the Pride to their first-ever NCAA Tournament victory against Cornell with 20 kills, eight blocks, five digs and four service aces. The center tackle from Centerville, Massachusetts, went 406 sets in 112 games in his four years and had 1,160 kills, 453 blocks, 242 digs, 128 service aces and a .358 hit percentage during his tenure. . Currently, Curley ranks 10th all-time at Hofstra in takedowns, third in hit percentage and fifth in blocks. She was the 2003 Colonial Athletic Association Rookie of the Year and the 2006 CAA Player of the Year. Curley was also twice selected by the All-Colonial Athletic Association.

John Danowski

John Danowski – Former Pride Men’s Lacrosse Coach John Danowski led the Hofstra program for 21 years, from 1986 to 2006. During his tenure, he compiled 192 wins and a .610 winning percentage, both of which rank in the second all-time at Hofstra. Danowski posted 15 winning seasons during his time at Hempstead and won an NCAA record 17 games in 2006 as Pride advanced to the NCAA Quarterfinals. It was one of four NCAA quarterfinal appearances for Hofstra under Danowski, who led the team to eight NCAA tournaments and won eight conference titles. His teams earned 17 final top-20 rankings, including a No. 2 ranking in 2006. During his tenure, Hofstra players earned 34 All-America selections and 91 All-Conference selections. Additionally, Doug Shanahan was the first recipient of the Tewaaraton Award in 2001 under Danowski’s tutelage. A native of East Meadow, New York, Danowski was the USILA Division I Coach of the Year in 1993 and was inducted into the Long Island Lacrosse Hall of Fame in 2001. He won three NCAA championships as head coach of the Duke University men’s team. lacrosse program and won the 2018 World Lacrosse Championship as head coach of Team USA.

Bridget Eder Harris

Bridget Eder Harris – A women’s lacrosse student-athlete from 2002-2005, Bridget Eder Harris is one of only four two-time All-Americans and the only first-team All-American in program history after earning the honor after his senior campaign. The Baltimore, Maryland native had a program and Colonial Athletic Association record 229 ground balls in her career to go along with 135 draw checks and 126 caused turnovers. Her 126 turnovers caused is a program record and she ranks eighth all-time in draw checks. Defenseman Eder Harris was the CAA Defensive Player of the Year in 2004 and 2005, and was a three-time All-CAA First Team selection. In addition to her All-America and All-Conference honors, Eder Harris was also a three-time all-IWLCA region pick and was selected to the first team as a junior and senior.

Charles Jenkins

Charles Jenkins – The all-time leading scorer in Hofstra men’s basketball history, Charles Jenkins scored 2,513 points between 2007 and 2011. Just the 63rd player in NCAA history to record over 2,500 points , Jenkins ranks second in Colonial Athletic Association history in scoring behind basketball legend David Robinson. A two-time honorable mention All-American, he was the CAA Player of the Year as a junior and senior and a three-time All-CAA First Team selection. He won CAA and Metropolitan Basketball Writers Association Rookie of the Year honors in 2008. Jenkins went on to win the Haggerty Award as the New York Metro Area’s top player in each of three years. following, becoming only the third three-time winner in Haggerty Prize history. He would become the first active player to have his jersey retired, when his No. 22 jersey was worn to the rafters before his last home game in 2011. In addition to his record points total, the Queens, New York native has also added 551 rebounds, 489 assists and 213 steals during his illustrious career.

Cindy Lewis

Cindy Lewis – Now in his 42nd year on staff at Hofstra, Cindy Lewis is Hofstra’s associate executive director of athletics and a senior administrator. She also serves as the Title IX department coordinator in addition to handling sports administration duties for several of Pride’s 21 sports teams. Graduating from Hofstra in 1979 with a degree in physical education, Lewis played field hockey and women’s lacrosse for four seasons, and after earning her master’s degree in physical education from the University of New Hampshire in 1980, returned to his alma mater and served as field chief. hockey and head coach of women’s lacrosse for five and three seasons, respectively. Lewis, a native of Massapequa, New York, was a member of the NCAA Women’s Lacrosse and Volleyball Committees and served as Volleyball Committee Chair in 1995. Additionally, she is a venue representative at the NCAA Volleyball and Lacrosse Championships. the NCAA, and served as Tournament Director at several NCAA Championship events held at Hofstra. She is also active at the conference level, serving on several Colonial Athletic Association committees. In 2019, Lewis became a member of the Executive Council of the Collegiate Women’s Lacrosse Officials Association. She is a past president of the Long Island Women’s Lacrosse Association and has served as a women’s lacrosse official at the college and high school level. Additionally, Lewis officiated in high school volleyball and field hockey. Lewis was inducted into the 2020 Long Island Metropolitan Lacrosse Foundation Hall of Fame.

Laura Walker Karson

Laura Walker-Karson – A female tennis student-athlete in 1981-82, Laura Walker-Karson is one of only two national champions in Hofstra Athletics history as she won the national division championship III of the AIAW in 1982 with a 6-4, 6-0 defeat of Sandy Gyorgi of DePauw University in the final in Madison, Wisconsin. Walker-Karson, a native of Hewlett, New York, would help Hofstra qualify for the national championship tournament by winning the AIAW East Regional title on first singles to give the team a third-place tag team finish in the event. . Walker-Karson would finish his junior campaign with a 21-0 record and earn All-America accolades. His 21 wins rank second on Hofstra’s single-season list.

To reserve your place at the Hall of Fame dinner, reserve a foursome at the golf outing, or inquire about sponsorship opportunities, contact the Athletics Development Office at (516) 463-4919 or [email protected] ed.

Previous Jamie Stone Highlights Hydrogen Potential at Far North Wind Farm Sites
Next BLACK VOICES: A Conversation with the WTTW News Community