Educators Elect New TEA President and Vice President | Education

The Tennessee Education Association recently elected new association officers at its 89th Representative Assembly.

Knox County veteran educator Tanya T. Coats was elected TEA president, and Joe Crabtree, who is a middle school teacher at Johnson City’s Liberty Bell, was elected TEA vice president.

“TEA’s strength is rooted in our member-leaders who use their passion for education to advance the association‘s work to ensure that every student receives a high-quality public education and that every educator has the support and resources to do its job effectively,” said TEA Executive Director Terrance Gibson.

“I am confident President Coats will continue the great work of the association on behalf of the tens of thousands of TEA members and all students in Tennessee,” he continued.

Tanya Coats was recently elected president of the Tennessee Education Association.

Coats took office on July 1 after serving as vice president of the TEA and president of the Knox County Education Association. She brings decades of experience as a public school educator and longtime association member. Coats will be on leave from her position as the new Knox County Schools Liaison Teacher during her term as president.

“It is an honor and a privilege to take on this role representing thousands of educators across the state,” Coats said. “I pledge to be a vocal and tireless advocate for educators, students and public education. I look forward to joining with other public education advocates to further the great work of our public schools and the Tennessee Education Association.

Sign up for Johnson City Press today!

The best stories, delivered straight to your inbox.

Joe Crabtree

Joe Crabtree of Johnson City was recently elected vice president of the Tennessee Education Association.

Crabtree joined Coats in office on July 1. He has already proven himself to be a leader as president of a local association and member of the board of directors of TEA. His experience in the classroom and in the association makes him a strong partner for Coats, TEA officials said. During his tenure as vice president of TEA, Crabtree will continue to teach social studies at Liberty Bell Middle School.

At the representative meeting, the TEA also elected new officers to the TEA Board of Directors and various other committees.

The following educators were elected to serve on the TEA Board of Directors: Janolyn King, Bedford County; Sherry Morgan, Knox County; Wendy Duncan, Town of Sweetwater; Clinton Smith, Council on Higher Education; Joyce Gutierrez, Robertson County; Eugene Lockhart, Shelby County; Haley Allen, Robertson County; and Neshellda Johnson, Shelby County.

Randall Woodard of Robertson County was elected to represent Tennessee educators nationally as director of the NEA.

The following educators were elected to serve on the board of directors of the TEA Fund for Children and Public Education, the association’s political action committee: Dave Gorman, Knox County; Melanie Stinnett, Sweetwater City; Caryce Leaders, Robertson County; Tiffany Church, Bedford County; Danielle Shaw-Jones, Jackson-Madison County; Jessica Minton, Collierville; and Dhawn Buchanan, Shelby County.

Try the Johnson City Press app today. Download here from Google Play and App Store.

Recommended Videos

Previous Indigo opens farmers' access to the voluntary carbon market